DIY-namite: let’s create

November 13, 2006

Sweet Cornbread

Filed under: food — by marieann @ 4:17 pm

Sweet Corn Bread

Who woulda thunk that corn could taste so irresistable? This is great because it’s much more moist and sweet than your average cornbread. Cut slices and freeze em in ziplock baggies for snacks when you need it. That is, if you don’t eat it all from the pan when the bread is hot!

Ingredients:
1 cup flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
5 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg, slightly beaten

Instructions:
1. Preheat oven to 400F. Lightly grease bread loaf pan. You can also use a 8 inch pan but then it’s not nearly as cute.
2. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl. If you have a sifter, you should use that too.
3. Form a well in the mixture and add the milk, oil, and egg. Stir just until everything is combined – there should still be very small scattered clumps of flour.
4. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 24 to 30 minutes, until the cornbread is starting to brown slightly (especially at the edges) and a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.
5. Pile on the butter and sigh with glee!

Hats for the crochet-speak impaired

Filed under: clothing,yarn — by threadslinger @ 3:28 am

first hat!
I went to high school in the NW where it was the coolest thing ever when you could make beanies and give them to your friends. Problem was, I could never read the patterns. All the sc’s and ch’s got me confused. Even with a key that explained the words I would always get overwhelmed and give up. So finally, 5 years later, I decided to try again. First, I learned how to crochet by just messing around with yarn and a crochet hook until I could figure out how to make a scarf, and still when I am around my friends that crochet they say I “do it weird”. To me it isn’t weird, it is the only way. I searched online for an instruction manual in english as opposed to crochet speak and alas, there was none to be found. Luckily, I was able to mess around long enough until I figured it out. So, I now give to you instructions on how to crochet a hat in complete sentences! Hopefullly it will help someone!

Materials needed:

Yarn (any kind, I use think wool yarn usually but anything works)
Crochet hook (this also can be any size, but you should usally match size of yarn to crochet hook, ie fat yarn = fat needle, ect.)

Step 1:

Start out with the normal knot around your crochet hook.

Step 2:

Do 6 single crochet stitches in a line (chain), then go back over them once so you have two rows of 6 stitches.

Step 3:

Join one end of the chain with the other end so it is in a little loop.

Step 4:

Do a normal single stitch once, but then instead of doing another one, loop the free yarn around the hook without going through a hoop. This is the trick because instead of making your yarn curve in like a basketball it will go out like a doily.

Step 5:

Measure on your head/ head of person you are making hat for to see when you need to stop doing the skip loop trick (my made up name to make it sound cool).

Step 6:

When your doily-like object is big enough go back to regular single stitch crochet until the end of the hat. (This is the curve part of the hat). I don’t believe there is a magic number for rows or anything so I just put it on periodically to see if it is the right size. If you want at the end you can make a “brim” by changing the color of yarn for the last 3-4 rows.

Step 7:

When finished, wear your awesome hat, get used to getting compliments. (Or, in my case statements of the obvious, “whoa, you guys have matching hats”).

my two favorite people

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.