DIY-namite: let’s create

November 17, 2006

Marie’s To Do List

Filed under: to-dos — by marieann @ 2:58 pm

Of course, as the law school grind revs up a couple of steps, I can’t stop thinking of creative things.

Here’s what’s next on my crafting To Dos: Either use these as your own inspiration or come back over the next few weeks since you know that there are new things to enjoy!

  • Sewing machine cover: my machine sits on our desk next to the computer when I’m not using it. It’s not an eye sore (mine’s sexy) but I don’t want it to get dusty when it’s not in use.
  • Advent calendar: Caro and I have been tossing around ideas on how to make one for this season. I want to use felt, want it to be reusable in years to come, and want a place to keep a piece of chocolate in each pocket. Other than that? It’s still a work in progress.
  • Skinny dresser refurnish: I picked up this great dresser from the street and I’ve been painting it over. So far I’ve painted the base coat, it’s a rich chocolately color. Dots and stripes to come!
  • Pin cushion: My mom had a fabric cat cushion; craftsters have cupcakes and hedgehogs. I don’t know what mine will be but it is gonna be something cuter than a plastic box.
  • Finish Mario quilt: It’s all pieced together, I just have to find the perfect back fabric, bind it, and tie it to finish.
  • Top secret: Christmas present for my mom. I would post about this, but I think my mom reads the blog. I wouldn’t want to spoil here.
  • McCalls’ pattern vest: I got this great pattern to make vests. I loved vests when I was young and now they are back in the indie crowd. Yay!
  • Sean and I’s stenciled t-shirts: I am a stencil maniac. I have two designs in progress and then next up is, “think aloha” and “bring back naptime.”
  • Fabric holiday boxes: I have a pattern for these too. They use fabric and stiffener along with ribbon. I’ll use them to package presents.
  • Plunger cozy: Plungers are so ugly! Our toilet is moody so we have one in the bathroom but I hate showing it off. I don’t know what I want to put on it, but maybe I’ll crochet something to make it cooler.
  • Homemade rubber stamps: Caro’s local art store sells the supplies. I can’t wait to try it out since I love carving.
  • Cool appliques: I have this idea about taking appliques, such a granny-style of crafting, and make it cool with modern designs. I have no idea what I want to put those appliques on though.

What’s on your creative plate?

2 Comments »

  1. This is such a good idea, I feel like I have so many ideas it is good to write them down, esp in the blog where it feels very final and you are bound to do it. The next things I want to do include (but aren’t limited to)

    -Advent Calendar
    -Popouri Jar/Night light (this needs explination but I don’t want to spoil the post so I will wait)
    -Fingerless gloves (already made but need to do another set and post)
    -Holiday goodies (fudge, cookies, ect)
    -Baking a special cake (I love making cakes more than anything)
    -Stencil T’s for my Awikini sisters (hopefully for christmas)
    -Coffee table (need to find/paint one cool)
    -Learn to crochet slippers/booties
    -Making something for my boss who is expecting a baby (any tips here would be good)

    Thats all. thanks for inspiring me to write it all down Miss Marie.

    Comment by caroline — November 17, 2006 @ 10:02 pm |Reply

  2. I also didn’t want to forget my ideas🙂

    I look forward to the night light esp! And of course, all of them.

    As to holiday goodies, you should buy some supplies when you go home to see your family so we can cook lots the next weekend. For sure, bring your xmas cookie cutters and see if you can pick up some xmas cupcake wrappers! I want to make lots of cool breads and cakes and make up in those so they are easier to share.

    Start making your list of people you want to give a holiday batch to.

    Comment by HB — November 17, 2006 @ 10:08 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

